Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Ljunggren Competition for young musicians cancelled

The Academy of Music and Drama has been commissioned by Ljunggrenska Foundation for twenty years to organise the Ljunggren Competition for young musicians. With the total prize sum of SEK 200 000, of which the first prize was SEK 100 000, the competition has been the largest of its kind in Sweden and in the same format as the European Young Musicians competition. The competition has annually attracted young talented musicians, and many of the winners have made an international career.

In the discussions between the Academy of Music and Drama and the Ljunggrenska foundation, it was brought up that the Ljunggrenska Foundation had decided to cancel its continuing commitment. Organising the competition has been a stimulating task for the Academy of Music and Drama, but without funding, the arrangement can not be carried out, which we deeply regret. 

The rules for the competition:

The semi-finals and the finals

No more than six semi-finalists were chosen on the basis of the recordings submitted by the applicants. These semi-finalists were called to a public performance to be judged by a jury.
Competitors would have 30 minutes to perform in the semi-finals and another 30 minutes if they participate in the finals.
The repertoire played in the finals was not to be the same as that played in the semi-finals.
A maximum of three finalists were selected from among the semi-finalists.
Any competitor wishing to have an accompanist had to make his or her own arrangements – no accompanists were provided.

The semi-finals and finals were held at a public performance in the auditorium at Artisten. Competitors were also obliged to allow their performances to be recorded for radio and/or television broadcasts.

The Foundation Ebba and Gustav Ljunggren's Memorial Fund

The Foundation Ebba and Gustaf Ljunggren’s Memorial Fund was established in 1988 through a donation by the Gothenburg businessman Stig Ljunggren and in memory of his parents Ebba (1887–1978) and Gustaf (1879–1967) Ljunggren.

Ebba Ljunggren was newspaper and business woman. After a period as the treasurer of the humour magazine Puck, she became the administrative manager of the daily Göteborgs-Posten during World War II and eventually its successful managing director.

Gustaf Ljunggren was primarily a political cartoonist and pioneer in advertising within topical events. In Sweden he was associated with the magazines Puck and Söndags-Nisse and internationally with Exlex and Simplicissimus. Gustaf became best known as an artist for the Stomatol toothpaste advertising campaigns.
Since its establishment in 1988, Ljunggren’s Memorial Fund has awarded grants, scholarships and donations for a total of more than SEK 10 million. In addition to certain support for research and education and responsibility for the operation of two schools in India together with the Child Association, since 1993 Ljunggren’s Memorial Fund has come to focus on support to and development of artistic activities. Scholarships are to without fail go to continued education.

Since 1997, the Ljunggren Competition for Young Musicians has been held annually in collaboration with the Academy of Music and Drama in Gothenburg. Scholarships totalling SEK 200,000 are awarded to the three highest ranked competitors in the competition. These music scholarships are the most significant continuously awarded scholarships in Sweden of their kind.

The Foundation Ebba and Gustaf Ljunggren’s Memorial Fund aims to give young talent the opportunity to studying and developing their talents on their own terms.

Previous first prize winners:

1997: Marika Schönberg - soprano
1998: Claes Gunnarsson - violoncello
1999: Maria Rostotsky - piano
2000: Sara Trobäck - violin
2001: Anders Hjortvall - violin
2002: Christian Svarfvar - violin
2003: Daniel Blendulf - violoncello
2004: Jakob Koranyi - violoncello
2005: Linda Dahl Laursen - piano
2006: Julia Estrada - piano
2007: Johannes Möller - guitar
2008: Per Gross - recorder
2009: Peter Friis Johansson - piano
2010: Sara Övinge - violin
2011: Andrej Power - violin
2012: Andreas Brantelid - cello
2013: Martin Malmgren - piano
2014: Filip Draglund - trumpet
2015: Amalie Stalheim, cello
2016: Bohumír Stehlik, piano

Page Manager: Tobias Egle|Last update: 3/20/2017

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?