Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Honorary Doctors

2019 Thomas Ostermeier

Theatre director, Thomas Ostermeier, who has also been the artistic director for the Schaubühne theatre in Berlin since the year 2000, is considered one of Europe's most prominent directors. He has been called "The face of modern German theatre".

He is most well-known for his acclaimed productions of Hedda Gabler, Shopping and Fucking, and Hamlet – and has also won numerous awards for his productions. When he was awarded the Golden Lion for life achievements as a director at the 2011 Venice Biennale, he was the youngest person ever to receive this award. Thomas Ostermeier is also one of the artistic directors for the Avignon Festival. He has published a number of books, the most recent of which is The Theatre of Thomas Ostermeier – where he writes about his method when staging dramatic texts.

Thomas Ostermeier's works are shaped and formed through his committed social engagement, and with a blend of theatrical expressions unique to him. He has had great significance for the development of performing art.

The Academy of Music and Drama has previously taken part in collaborations with Thomas Ostermeier through Prospero, the international performing arts network.

– It is our hope that deeper collaborations with Thomas Ostermeier, together with the Gothenburg City Theatre/Göteborgs stadsteater, will be enabled, and that our students and staff will gain the opportunity to share in Thomas Ostermeier's knowledge and experience, as well as learn more about the methods he writes about in his latest book, says Sanne Kofod Olsen, dean of the Faculty of Fine, Applied and Performing Arts.

Artist talk with Thomas Ostermeier on 13 September 2019 at the Academy of Music and Drama in Gothenburg.

All honorary doctors connected to the Academy of Music and Drama

Theatre director Thomas Ostermeier (2019)
Singer, riksspelman and composer Lena Willemark (2018)
Conductor and pianist Christian Zacharias (2017)
Tumpet player Arve Henriksen (2016)
Perfomance artist Liz Aggiss (2013)
Conductor Gustavo Dudamel (2012)
Musicologist Kerala Snyder (2010)
Conductor Kjell Ingebretsen (2009)
Opera singer Rut Jacobson (2004)
Music Education researcher David Hargreaves (2004)
Theatre Director Eva Bergman (2003)
Actor trainer Gert (Yat) Malmgren (2000)
Conductor Herbert Blomstedt (1999)
Conductor Neeme Järvi (1991)
Cellist Guido Vecchi (1989)

Page Manager: Tobias Egle|Last update: 10/3/2019

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?